Home

I remember being fascinated by this article when I first read it two years ago. I gave it a try for a short while, but couldn’t stick with it because I felt the need to check my emails before heading to campus. In an attempt to improve my productivity, I’m going to give this another try.

I’m going to use the first free moments of the day to write what I need to do today (the boring but important stuff) and what I want to do (stuff I will make time for soon) before I check my phone or go online.

Throughout the day, I’ll add any new things I want to do. This will help unclutter my mind, especially after consuming information because I like to check out new music or look into something after browsing Facebook and Feedly. I queue a lot of this in Pocket to catch up in my spare time, but there’s some stuff I want to get to sooner than later (for fun or out of curiosity).

Because I’m an introvert, I tend to get lost in thought. I also just think too much. Sometimes it’s cool stuff like a new idea and other times it’s just another lingering to-do item. To empty my mind, I’m going to write these thoughts down as well at the end of the day.

This article compliments all of the above well. I love the way the author describes to-do lists: Think of your todo list as less of a list, and more of a map. It’s a map of where you are now that points you in the direction of where you want to be in the next few days or weeks. Your done list is the route you’ve taken in the past few days or weeks. Your projects list is the next few months or years, and so on. Dissatisfaction is the difference between where you are and where you want to be, and your lists are the map plotting the route ahead.”

I’ve always been an avid user of to-do lists, but it was limited to action items for work and school.. which is normal and what most people do. My goal now is to think about the bigger picture (*sigh* growing up). It’s time to prioritize, figure out what I want, and actually do something about it.

“We live in a world where so many people will say they want to do something, but what they’re really saying is that they want something to happen to them. Moving forward, even if it’s just writing down a plan, can be terrifying. It’s opening yourself up to failure. It’s vulnerable. It’s beautiful.” 

Leave a Reply

